This article covers the most common issues with accessing Displayr Documents and how to resolve them. Note that anything that needs to be checked in the Account Settings and Document Settings will need to be done by an Administrator on your account. If they are unavailable, you can contact Support (support@displayr.com) for help.
Scenarios covered:
- Free trial expired
- No editing hours left error
- Can only open the document in View Mode
- Do not have write access error
- Document is not listed in Documents
Fixes covered:
- Buy a license
- Assign a license
- Confirm your login method (single sign-on vs. email and password)
- Add more edit hours
- Get added to a user group with edit access
Free trial expired
Your free trial is good for the lesser of 14 days or 10 hours of editing. Afterwards, your account converts to a free Displayr account that has more restrictions. Most notably, you will no longer be able to work in Professional documents (among other restrictions). To keep editing, purchase a Professional license — see Buy a Displayr License for the available options. If you are an Administrator on the account, you can confirm your trial is expired in the Account Settings > Licenses > Trial section.
No editing hours left error
"The requested action cannot be completed because you do not have any editing hours left on your assigned license. You can still view the document or go to the licenses page to manage your licenses."
This message can be misleading because you may not even have a license on the account. In order to troubleshoot this, work through the checklist below.
- Check licensing information under Account Settings > Licenses > Professional user.
- There is a license listed. If not, see Buy a license.
- It is currently active - today is within the Start and End dates. If it is not active and that is an error, contact our support team at support@displayr.com.
- It is assigned to you - you are listed as the User. If not, see How to Reassign a License to a New User.
- It has edit hours remaining - Hours left is positive. Editing hours can be shared across licenses if one runs out, so if Hours left is 0 for your license, you can see if other licenses have any Hours Left. If there are 0 Hours Left on all active licenses on the account, see Add more edit hours.
- Check that you are logged in as the User assigned to the license.
- For an account without single sign-on (SSO) enabled, confirm the email address is correct on the Account Settings > General tab and matches the email address listed for the license's User in Account Settings > Settings > Users.
- If single sign-on (SSO) is enabled on the account, you may have two Account Settings > Settings > Users for the same email - one for the SSO login (denoted with (SSO User)) and the other for the regular email and password login. Check the Last Session dates to confirm if you are logged in on your SSO or regular email User, and then ensure that User is the one assigned to the license. If it doesn't match, you can either Assign a license to the correct User account or Confirm your login method.
Can only open the document in View Mode
If you see the Document you want to edit in your list of documents, but when you click on it, it only opens the document in View Mode, then you only have view access to the document. See Get added to a user group with edit access.
Do not have write access error
You are not authorised to access this document because your account (xxxxx) is not a member of a group with write access.
If you are sent a URL directly to Edit Mode for a document and receive the above error, you will need to Get added to a user group with edit access.
Document is not listed in Documents
If the document you want to open is not listed in your Documents list, you either:
- Don't have edit access. See Get added to a user group with edit access.
- Or you have view access, but the document is not published yet. See
Fixes
Buy a license
- For companies with standard professional licenses, account administrators can go to Account Settings > Licenses > Professional user and click Add and complete the process.
- If you aren't an administrator or if your company uses Enterprise licenses, please contact support@displayr.com or reach out to your account manager.
Assign a license
After you buy a license, it is listed as Unassigned on Account Settings > Licenses > Professional user. Because Displayr licenses are for one user, you will need to Assign the license to a User on the account to grant them all the Professional license editing features. You can also Unassign and Assign the license to a different user, but this should be done mindfully because there are restrictions. See How to Reassign a License to a New User for further details.
Confirm your login method (single sign-on vs. email and password)
Because you can have different User accounts (one for your single sign-on identity and the other for your email and password credentials), you should confirm you are logging in the correct way for the User assigned to the license.
- Log out of Displayr completely.
- Log back in using the appropriate method
- For SSO Users: ensure you are using
yourcompany.displayr.comto log in. - For email and password Users: ensure you are using
app.displayr.comto log in.
- For SSO Users: ensure you are using
- Consider confirming with the Administrator managing your account's licenses whether the correct login method is assigned to the license.
See How to Enable Single Sign-On in Displayr for background on how single sign-on is set up on an account.
Add more edit hours
If, under Account Settings > Licenses > Professional user, all licenses on the account have zero Hours Left, you can buy more edit hours directly. Click Add from the Additional editing server time section and follow the prompts to purchase additional hours.
Get added to a user group with edit access
In Displayr, User Groups control access to a specific folder of documents or an individual document, and access is managed separately for both viewing and editing. You must be an Administrator to manage these settings. See How to Control Who Can Edit Documents in Displayr and How to Manage User Groups and Permissions in Displayr for more information on how to grant the appropriate User Groups access to a Document.
Next
How to Access Your Account Settings
How to Reassign a License to a New User