By default, Displayr AI is enabled for any new Displayr account created after October 1, 2025.
Opting in or out of Displayr AI features, such as Chat, can be managed at the company account level or at the folder level. Account-level settings apply across your entire Displayr account. Folder-level settings allow you to override the account-level setting for specific folders.
Opting in or out of Displayr AI features can only be updated by account administrators and any user with editing privileges on an account.
- Opting In and Out via the menu
- Opting In and Out via the prompt
- Opting In and Out at the folder level
- Permanently disable Displayr AI
Opting in and out via the menu
To opt in or out without being prompted:
- Click on the initials icon in the upper right corner of Displayr and select Account Settings.
- Navigate to General > Displayr AI and toggle the dropdown to Enabled or Disabled as you wish. This opts you in and out of Displayr AI's Principal AI Service as defined in Displayr AI - Terms of Use.
- If you update the dropdown to Enabled, you will be prompted to view and agree to the Displayr AI terms. If you do not agree to the terms, Displayr AI will remain disabled.
Opting in and out via the prompt
Before you opt in or out, whenever you try to use a Displayr AI feature directly, or if an improved Displayr AI feature is available, such as with automatic text categorization, you will be prompted to Accept Terms of Use (opt-in) or decline (opt-out) the Displayr AI - Terms of Use. Clicking the X in the upper right corner will not run the feature, and you will be prompted again about enabling it next time.
Selecting Accept Terms of Use or declining will automatically populate the Displayr AI field in Account Settings and note the user who made the change, as well as the date and time the change was made. Changes to this field are also tracked in the Account Settings > Usage > Audit Trail report.
Opting in and out at the folder level
You can manage whether to enable or disable Displayr AI at the folder level. This allows you to control the use of AI across documents and clients, ensuring it is used only when appropriate and not on projects or clients that prohibit it.
To enable or disable AI at the folder level, go to the Documents page, hover over the folder, click the three dots, and select Settings.
Under Access and Displayr AI, select Configure this folder, check or uncheck Use Displayr AI in this folder, and click Save.
Note: the Use Displayr AI in this folder checkbox is only available when Configure this folder is selected. If you have Inherit from the parent folder or Use account settings selected, the AI setting will be determined by the parent folder or your account-level settings.
Reviewing sub-folders with varied Displayr AI settings
A section in Folder Settings shows administrators how many sub-folders have a different Displayr AI setting from the current folder.
Clicking Show folders reveals a table listing each exception folder — its path (which is clickable to navigate directly to it), its Displayr AI status, and a link to each sub-folder's Folder Settings. This helps admins identify and manage folders with divergent AI permissions.
Permanently disable Displayr AI
If you wish to permanently disable Displayr AI on your account and don't want to be prompted to opt in each time someone tries to use an AI-based feature, please contact the Support Team to remove the AI enablement options from your account.